Absolyte GP Battery Bank

Options
NevadAdobe
NevadAdobe Registered Users Posts: 3
I am new to solar forums so I appreciate any assistance/direction. I was able to purchase two decommissioned Absolyte GP style battery banks @ 48 volt configuration. Are there any members using these style batteries/banks that can tell of their experience with them. Thank you for your input!

Comments

• Marc Kurth
    Marc Kurth Solar Expert Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I have no direct hands-on experience with them. But I will say that everything depends upon your expectations. We have seen some reasonable success stories and some abysmal failures using used UPS batteries. Keep in mind that your batteries were specifically designed for occasional fast/hard discharging and then lots and lots of hours to sit on Float after recharging. This is a very different usage profile than the typical operation seen in off-grid systems.
    I always have more questions than answers. That's the nature of life.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options
    NevadaAdobe,

Regarding our forum... You will get more engagement on the forum if you post as you did here in the public forums.

Using "wall posts"--Most people do not use them here.

You can use Private Messaging if you wish to communicate with another poster directly (negotiating buy/sell, sending email address/phone number, etc.).
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • NevadAdobe
    Options
    BB - I do not think I understand what I did wrong with my post. Are you saying that this not the correct place to put a post? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

• BB.
    Options
    NevadAdobe,

Nothing wrong with your post here in the public forum... Originally, you "wall posted" messages to specific users:

https://forum.solar-electric.com/activity
    • Dave -