Voltage drop when plugged into charge controller? (18-19V -> 12.7V)

Richars65
Richars65 Registered Users Posts: 2
Hey folks. I'm new to solar and I'm trying to figure out an issue on my camper. 

Basically, I'd been having some trouble with my old SCC and installed a Renogy Adventurer 30A PWM controller.  I have a 100W panel and 2 x sealed lead acid batteries (Interstate HD24-DP).

I initially installed the PV leads first (was an issue in the battery power circuit so wanted to isolate it), but then disconnected everything.  With open circuit, the battery reading is 12.7V, the PV reads 18 or 19V.  I figure great, that'll definitely be enough to charge the batteries, should be set. However, when I connect the battery and PV leads back up, the batteries still read 12.7V but now the PV is down to 12.7 or 12.8V. Not running all kinds of stuff on the circuit.  Any ideas what may be causing the drop?  I have the charge controller set to 12V SLA settings.  Is it possible it's pulling very little because the batteries are fully charged? 

Comments

• littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2022 #2
    The battery voltage dictates the charging voltage. If the battery is in a low state of charge it will show on the readout. When you get sufficient sun on the panels the voltage will slowly rise to the absorb setpoint.
    12.7 vdc is close to full so you may not see much activity on the controller. Put a substantial load on the batteries and you should see the incoming current or watts, whatever your display shows, rise. SLA batteries can take up to 20% of their amp hour rating so you have 128 amp hours in batteries, you can charge at up to 25 amps. I think one 100 watt panel is about 6 amps at best. Two more panels would give you a good match for keeping those batteries happy.