Battery always sitting at half

mrk79uk
mrk79uk Registered Users Posts: 2
Hey all,

Total newbie here but enjoying the learning. 

I've just fitted 3x 100w panels wired in series to my camper van along with a Epever tracer 40a MPPT controller and MT50. 

I have two sealed batteries in the back with a pretty standard split charge relay. 

I am finding that even after a long drive my batteries seem to read half full on the MT50. Does that indicate I have a faulty battery do you think? 

Comments

• wellbuilt
    wellbuilt Solar Expert Posts: 763 ✭✭✭✭
    No the my 50 just Dosent read Accurately
     Check with a volt meter and I’m sure you will get a Accurate reading
    Out back  flex power one  with out back 3648 inverter fm80 charge controler  flex net  mate 16 gc215 battery’s 4425 Watts solar .
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Assuming your sealed batteries are AGM (lead acid Absorbed Glass Matt) type... Then you should see around 14.4 volts (at 70F) for 2+ hours on the batteries to be fully charged.

You can also monitor the charging current to the battery using a DC amp meter of some sort--And watch for 14.4 volts and the charging current to drop below ~1% rate of charge (i.e., 100 AH battery * 1% rate of charge = 1 amp).

With Lead Acid batteries... You have 3 charging states:
    1. Bulk--This is below the charging set point (typically from ~12.0 to 14.3 volts) where the charging source outputs as much current as it is rated for to the battery bank.
    2. Absorb--This is where the charge controller "holds" the voltage setpoint for a number of hours (typically shorter time for batteries that are already full; and longer times for batteries that have been deeply cycled)l