Help for beginner with small cabin solar

crisb67
crisb67 Registered Users Posts: 4
I hope I'm putting this question in the right place! As a novice, I need advice from folks who aren't trying to sell me something. 
In our cabin, we have a small harbor freight solar system running a few lights/stereo/phone charger with no problem. However, we want to stay up there more regularly so will need more power. We estimate we'll use about 400 amp hours a day. We're located in northern Idaho so temp gets into the teens and lots of gray winter days. 
Does anyone have suggestions for what type of battery (acid v lithium), size of charge controller, and how many panel we should get. We're on a budget but don't want something that's not going to last a while. I've done a ton of research but I'm still not sure I'm getting it! 😑
Also, any thoughts on solar generators? Would that be a better way to go?
Thanks for any input!!

Comments

• wellbuilt
    wellbuilt Solar Expert Posts: 763 ✭✭✭✭
     I started off in a trailer with 2 golf cart battery’s 2 solar panels 500 watts 300 watt inverter 40 amp charge controller . 
     Battery charger and small genarator .   
      This system is running after 5 years but the battery need to be replaced . 
      You really need to figure out what you want to run . 
     Then how much power it will take . 
     If you want to run a frig you will need a larger system . 
     Every one will want to know what equipment you want to run and for how long so they could help .
      My panels have been covered in ice for 3 weeks and I have feet of snow in the forecast so I’m on Honda power for the foreseeable future
    Out back  flex power one  with out back 3648 inverter fm80 charge controler  flex net  mate 16 gc215 battery’s 4425 Watts solar .
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin