Circuit layout help for charging 12V battery with DC wind turbine generator

Options
rkraemer21
rkraemer21 Registered Users Posts: 1
I am new to electronics above the most basic level and I am planning on charging a battery, or powering something else, with a wind turbine.  I constructed the wind turbine myself from scratch and have confirmed that my DC motor can output current when the turbine is driven with wind.  All I have left now is to figure out how to do something with that power.  What parts do I need in my circuit so that the battery doesn't just power the motor, and so that there is enough voltage to power the battery?  Or should I decide to forgo the battery and power something directly?

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Small wind is a bit of a pain.

When in the wind the turbine MUST create energy. So you need a charge controller with a diversion load(some place for the power to go once the batteries are charged). 

If this is just a school project, you could just use a water heater element to heat water...
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    edited January 2021 #3
    Options
    We generally do not have a lot of detailed discussion about wind here... Here are some wind related links and forums that do discuss DYI wind projects in detail:

Wind Power Links
    www.otherpower.com (good forum for DIY Wind Power)
    Hugh Piggott - Scoraig Wind Electric site for tons of info (from mike90045)
    Scoraig Wind "Recipe Book" for DYI Turbines (from Chris Olson... From his 4/11/2013 post)