What battery charger for my off-grid cabin solar system?

jarod347
jarod347 Registered Users Posts: 3
edited January 2021 in Solar Beginners Corner #1

Hi all,

I've been trying to figure out what battery charger I need to use to charge my battery, but all the posts and answers are not helping me select a specific charger. What I would really like are specific suggestions on what product to buy. I'm totally new to this stuff, so having someone make a specific suggestion based on my system would be very helpful!

So here is what I have:

Cabin with lots of shade during the winter
1 100w Renogy solar panel
40A Rover MPPT Charge Controller
1200watt 12v DC to 110v/120v Giandel Pure Sine Wave Inverter
 WKDC12-100P Duracell Ultra 12V 100AH Deep Cycle AGM SLA Battery

Honda EM5000sx generator

I want to be able to charge the battery with the generator when the solar panel isn’t getting it done.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Jarod

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    For the occasional bulk charging for 12V batteries, i like using an automotive 40A charger. They are not a full 3-stage charger, but they can pack a bunch of amps in for a couple hours from the generator, and then you can go enjoy silence again.
      That might be a bit of a load for small generators, but for one your size, shouldn't be an issue.

However, your inverter is a pretty large one, and while it can power large loads. the battery will not last long.  And a large inverter consumes a lot just sitting idle
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||