Lithium iron phosphate hot climates

moltensurf
moltensurf Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
edited October 2020 in General Solar Power Topics #1
I have a ram pro master I am fitting  out with solar. I am trying to keep the weight down in my vehicle and would like to use lithium iron phosphate batteries. I travel a lot in hotter climates, and live in southern Texas. My van is well insulated, but I hear the lithium batteries do not like heat, and work better in cooler climates. Does anyone use lithium batteries to travel in hot climates? Should I go with another type of battery bank?

Comments

• Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    I assume you are not talking about a starting battery. You should look at what the battery brand says about life in an RV. That is what you have right?  Also search the brand for RV people using that battery over time. You want old users in the southwest. I would only  look at LFP chemistry (lithium iron phosphate) as NMC used in cars is much more dangerous.

In general LFP batteries get the longest life at temperatures that humans like. Many measure temp/cycles for warranty.
    Since it is so easy/cheap to buy flooded batteries at places like costco and all the others, I would look at price before lithium.

Lithium batteries do not like cold and that is the main reason they measure temp. If you charge on below 32F you can easily kill it.
     Yes, and just one time!
    "we go where power lines don't" Sierra Nevada mountain area
       htps://offgridsolar1.com/
    E-mail offgridsolar@sti.net

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum @moltensurf

Quite the contrary, LiFePo4 are more comfortable in higher temperatures than their lead acid counterparts, for this reason I abandoned lead acid in favor of LiFePo4  as the temperatures where I am rarely drop below the optimal value  for lead acid which is 25°C.