First Solar System

wkdfarm
wkdfarm Registered Users Posts: 2
I am designing a new retirement home on my WV farm. I will be the GC. I am a retired Electrical Engineer and US Submarine sailor - so I have enough experience to be dangerous re solar, inverters and batteries. Have also built a couple of houses and done my own electrical and plumbing.

So I am planning Grid Tie with battery backup b/c the power is unreliable. In the last ten years we have seen two or three week long outages and loose power for several hours a month. I have my vital loads mapped out and measured or estimated. About 5000W peak and 6kW-hr per day. Utility use in current home is about 10kW-hr per year.

Proposed System: 12kW DC, 35 x 375W panels, 2 SB6.0 US inverters, ~1500 A-h flooded 48V battery and 6kw diesel genset. Generous net metering.

Backup will be by dedicated vital bus with feeds to barn, garage/shop and house. Just less than 48A calculated peak load. Way less in survival mode. Planning on one or two Conext XW Pro. 

I would like to AC couple the SBs and the XW Pro on the vital bus and keep my efficiency high and cost low.

The kicker is I need to be off-grid for about one year b/c my utility requires a house foundation to be in place to do a line extension and I need to build the barn first. 

SOOO...

Is AC coupling reliable enough for a year of lite off-grid use? Seems all the rage in Europe, etc. Could DC couple at higher cost and significant loss of efficiency. But the AC coupled system would obviously be the best bridge to eventual grid tie. Or I could just use the battery and inverter to reduce gen run time. But I don't like the idea of auto gen start when I'm not there.

Any feedback appreciated.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    i too, don't like unattended auto-start.
    Once you have sunk the cost for the off-grid system, how much will the grid hook-up cost you ?