Over all Battery Bank Voltage Dropped

Options
midijeep
midijeep Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭✭
edited January 2020 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
I have a SMA Sunny Island with NiFe batteries @ 1.2v per battery .   With the sunny island setup I had to use 38 batteries instead of 40.   I have been running the batteries for about 3 years.  At float the voltage per battery  was 1.48v  (and steady ~56.2 v for the entire battery bank at float) until 3 Days ago.  Now, the battery bank voltage dropped and  is steady at 55.07v  (about 1 volt difference for the battery bank).  I tested each battery with a multi-meter and each battery was 1.45v.  so I didn't measure any batteries that where different from each other.
I am not sure if the sunny island decided to measure the voltage differently (it uses its own method of measuring voltage).

Should I worry about this steady 1 volt drop in the battery bank? Is there any other test I can do to determine if there is a problem with one of the batteries?

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    i'd recheck all the connections, and then load the battery /inverter with at least a 500w load.  While loaded check the cell terminals of the far end of the cell you are checking, not on the terminal bolt, but the terminal bolt of the neighboring cell. you are looking for a poor connection which will have a higher voltage across it, than a good connection would.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar