Batteries versus gas generator for home backup

eolenic
eolenic Registered Users Posts: 2
I have been using the 12V battery in my Prius (used only for cabin electronics and not starting) with a 1kW pure sine wave inverter, and heavy-duty extension cords to backup a refrigerator, a computer and some lights during power outages, which we have several times a year.  I know that putting the 12V through extra cycles will shorten its lifetime, but I've been using this system for 10 years without incident. 

As I have aged, the extension cords get harder to drag, I am considering buying two 200ah deep cycle agm batteries (130 pounds each) connected in parallel, a 2kW inverter, and a battery charger/tender so I don't have to drag extension cords outside and also to go easier on the Prius battery.  The nice thing about the Prius is that the gas engine only runs for a minute or so every 15 minutes in order to charge the 12V, so I can go several days using this backup system on a full tank (10 gallons) in the car.  I estimate that the battery system outlined above would power my frig, a TV, a modem, a Verizon set top box, a laptop and several lights for almost 3 days.  I have a 9240kW grid-connected solar system.  Batteries would be independent of that system, for now.

My questions (at last) are:

1.  Since the battery backup system would cost in the neighborhood of $1500 or more, should I simply continue using the Prius, or perhaps replace the Prius 12V with a deep cycle battery?
2.  Would it make more sense to get a gas generator, which might cost $500-$1000, need to be run continuously during an outage, make lots of noise, be kept outside and require intensive maintenance both the generator engine and the gasoline?
3.  From what I have been reading in this blog, $300 200ah batteries may not be as good as they claim.  Are more expensive batteries better?
4.  I also have questions about which inverters and charger/maintainers to use.

Comments

• BB.