Wiring diagram review

Options
rw080761
rw080761 Registered Users Posts: 2
hello! 
This is my first project dealing with wiring so I was hoping to have people review my work and offer opinions on how to improve it.

*are the fuses sized correctly and in the proper place? 

* is it true you can run the grounding wires to negative side of the fuse block? 

Thank you for your time! 

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    A few suggestions:
    I'd move the negative wire between lower battery and fuse block/buss to the upper battery to better balance current through the bank.

150a fuse is too big IMHO for 4awg wire to inverter and interconnects.  Depending on wire insulation and length of run, something more like 1/0 or 2/0 should be used.  A 1000w inverter could draw ~90-100a continuous and surge to maybe 2x that.  With 75° insulation, NEC ampacity for 4awg is 85a.
    http://www.armstrongssupply.com/wire_chart.htm

Likewise the fuse (or preferably a breaker, handier as a disconnect) between bank and buss should be sized to protect the wire used.

The battery can be grounded, but check the inverter manual WRT neutral-ground bonding on the AC side.

If this is short runs (eg boat/van) branch wire size is likely fine.  If longer runs (cabin/house), you may want to check voltage drop for expected load currents.  DC loads for mobile/marine use are usually ok with the voltage range (~10.5-16v) seen in battery charging cycles, but some designed for use in residential applications want stable DC output (~13v) from a power supply.

10awg wire is probably ok for controller output, but I'd check the voltage at the output terminals vs battery bank terminals while charging to be sure voltage drop doesn't make the controller think it's supplying a high voltage than what's actually getting to the bank.  Personally, I'd use the biggest wire that fits on the controller terminals.
    Off-grid.