12 to 24v battery charging

I am using a 40w 12v panel to charge 2 marine batteries set up as 24v. 

This is the panel:

ALEKO 40W 40-Watt Monocrystalline... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00XOIT6ZU?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

This is the control unit:

EPEVER 40a Solar Charge... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07NVDJFD4?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Here is is the issue:

It works fine as long as the batteries are set up as 12v.   When I set them up as 24v, the control unit does not allow a charge.  

Please assume my wiring is correct. Is the issue with the panel being a 12v?  If that’s the case, do I need a converter?   I’m fairly new to solar power, but I’ve checked and rechecked the system multiple times to no avail.  At this point, my only conclusion is the panel not being 24v but what do I know. 

Any advise is appreciated!

mike

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    You are correct. A 12 volt panel cannot charge a 24 volt battery bank with 99.9% of the solar charge controllers.

You need, at least Vmp-array of 35 volts to charge a 24 volt battery bank.

Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The simplest solution is probably to add a second identical panel in series with the first.  When hooking up the panels, the +ive of one plugs into the -ive of the other, leaving a single +ive and -ive from the pair to the controller.  Amperage will be the same, but voltage will be ~2x that of the single panel, and should be enough to charge your 24v battery string.

Be sure the controller is already powered by the batteries and fully booted up before connecting the panel string to the controller.
    Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer