Help Suggest and fix my friend's new DIY Solar system....

hmong2017
hmong2017 Registered Users Posts: 39 ✭✭

Okay, I know It sounds stupid... But a friend offgrid had someone order a solar kit for him. I know a little about DIY 12V and 24V Solar stuff.... But I am not familiar of bigger setups.

I know what I am about to explain is REALLY off and wrong. So please help me help him get the right stuff to finish his setup. He's spent a lot already, and the guy that bought the stuff is a self taught solar guy off of criagslist... (I KNOW!!!! RIGHT!!!!)

my friend currently have these stuff:

SOLAR PANEL:

- GCL SOLAR Brand

- 335WATT

- 38V

- 8.82A

- Model is GCL-p6/72335

- TOTAL OF 12 PANELS in Parallel

Combine Box:

- Liket Brand, Prewired

- with 6 Breaker rated 20A each

- Each breaker handles 2 panel

Now HE HAVE A 80A Charge Controller (We don't know how the Volt, because it doesn't say it anywhere. Weird....)

Then to 8 Batteries... AND, here's the Specs;

- Trojan Brand, Model SSIG 06 475

- 6VOLT

- 475 AH

- They have tried to Series it and Parallel....

The Power Inverter, is a 5000W, 24V unit.

What I don't understand is, he said they managed to get power from the batteries and had the power inverter worked for a day and, then after that it just never worked anymore, like the panels aren't charging the batteries.

That's when they thought something is wrong with the batteries and started playing series and paralleling the batteries... So I was not sure if they used parallel or series at first for the batteries.

Besides, can a 24V power inverter really work with 6V batteries? How?

Any Idea how they got 6V batteries to work with 24V Power Inverter?

tell us what he needs to change, do what to get the panels to charge his battery bank.. (I personally think the batteries isn't suitable for the setup, but...) is his 38V panels is considered a 36V so that he should stick with 36V parts?