Grounding

KhellSk
KhellSk Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭

Hello, this is going to be a Debutant question and im a bit ashamed to ask it

Do you, as you should for AC in a house, have to ground the circuit and the devices boxes ? I did ad a pigtail from the Return wires splice to the ground screw of my device box. I have a feeling this isnt right. Do you tie to a rod in the ground ?

Anyhow, Do you ground the circuits and how do you do it ( not talking about the panels frames here)

Thank you fellas

Tagged:

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2019 #2

I'm no code expert, but my understanding is small low voltage DC circuits (<48v, eg LED lights) often aren't grounded, but higher voltage ones (eg pv string voltage in combiner box) should/must be. Boxes generally have provision for grounding - eg Midnite mnpv combiners have a ground buss bar.

I ran a ground wire from combiner to ground buss in an epanel, which is then grounded to main house ground.

Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer
    Night system ~1kw panels into 1xMNClassic150 700ah 12v bank morningstar 300w inverter
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Ground referencing a power system (tying the return--Negative Typically--To a common metal like cold water pipes, electrical boxes) is what allows us to use single pole breakers and fuses (overcurrent protective devices) only on the "hot leads". The ground bonded return leads never become "hot", so they do not need fuse/breaker.

Now, that definition works in a home or vehicle (metal frame of vehicle).