Agm.Gel Battery Maintenance

rooduJardin
rooduJardin Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭

I have very little knowledge of systems, particularly equipment. Currently on my second small system that will power all our external lighting at night for 12 hours, 10w led each at 12vdc. The system is currently on a bench ready to go up.

In the system is a "Valve regulated sealed AGM/GEL 12v battery". In the document for this battery on maintenance it demands a full discharge every 6 months. The reason for choosing this battery is that I live in Thailand and solar is decades behind the west. Not many options available here. So I know zero about this battery, it's rated at 35ah.

So my one question is what is the best method to do this? I would prefer to cable some device into the circuit for convenience. How do you guys get round this?

Thanks in advance.

PS; if someone knows this battery type I would love some pros/cons of this design.

Tagged:

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

In Thailand everything is available, you just need to know where to look, it can be challenging at first dealing with local suppliers, personally I found it easier to order from China directly, there is no tariff on batteries, keeping the orders on other stuff below $50, on paper at least, results in no duty or taxes. If you need some pointers just ask, I can send links to dealer locally, and where to get almost everything needed. Outside Bangkok it difficult, I'm in the Udon Thani area so understand the apparent lack of vendors, but they do exist.

1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.