Tristar TS-45 PWM Battery Sense and Firefly Battery Issue

Cortttt
Cortttt Registered Users Posts: 26 ✭✭
Please note I am a beginner :)

I have a Tristar TS-45 PWM controller matched up with 250 watts of solar panels and one Firefly battery. 

The battery has been superb for the past three years.  I've thrown all sorts of stuff at it including accidentally lowering its voltage several times inadvertently to around 4 or 5 volts. Every time it's been able to recover - which is why I paid the extra bucks for it. 

Now I'm getting really weird readings. 

The Tri-star is giving me a battery sense alarm even though the polarity is correct and the leads are attached. (One of the leads had come unattached and I reattached it.) 

The controller is stating that the battery is doing some amazing things: it keeps triggering a high voltage disconnect alarm - as it reports that the battery voltages regularly gets up to 16.1, 16.0 or even 17.0 volts, It's also reporting huge drops in voltage regularly - as low as 3 or 4 volts. This has been going for the last month or so. 

Could a faulty battery sense be producing these weird issues? Or is the battery or is it both?

The battery is still usable and some days it performs within spec. 

Morningstar had me test the voltage at a number of points and it seemed to be working fine but I have not been able to test when these weird numbers show up. 

Both companies seem to feel that the other one is responsible at this point :)

Float is set at 13.3 I think and bulk at 14.35.
Tagged:

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum Cortttt,

What is the gauge (diameter) of your controller to battery cable, and how long is the wire run? And what is the typical maximum current you see from the controller to battery bank?