Science Fair Project

thaueisen
thaueisen Registered Users Posts: 2

Hey All,

Just found this forum while searching for information.  I realize this is a bit off topic from what most folks post here but I'm very new to solar panels and looking for some insight so I thought I'd give it a try.

I'm working with my son on a science fair project.  He wanted to do something with solar power and so we got a little 10w solar panel to use, https://amzn.to/2S4IKwN.  My question is why, without load, the panel seems to have a pretty constant output voltage as measured on the charge controller, even when the panel is at a very steep angle to the sun?  It seems to max out around 22 volts and even at a 90 degree angle it only drops to about 17 or 18.  The data we're looking for is how the output of the panel changes with the angle of the sun.  Is our approach flawed here, is there a better way to get the data we're after?  My hunch is that measuring the voltage without any load isn't telling us the whole story.

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The voltage reading may be influenced by the type of controller, but in general:

- Open circuit voltage (with no load) will be pretty constant in a wide variety of light, and vary a bit with cell temperature.  This means tilting the panel (within reason) so less light hits it will lower voltage slightly, but this would be offset to some degree by the sun warming the panel.  In cold climates like mine, this can be an issue as voltage can get too high for connected equipment on a cold breezy morning before the low morning sun warms the panels enough. It can also happen when a cloud passes, letting the panels cool, then reappears on the cold panels.

- Current (amperage) output from the panels is more or less directly proportionate to insolation (strength of illumination), with minor temperature variance.