Running a 1/2 hp hydraulic power unit with solar panels

jcronin
jcronin Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
I am interested in running a 1/2 hp hydraulic power unit (12 V DC) once per day for about 10 minutes. It will need to run during the day some days, and at night some days. Some days it will not run at all (it will not run for more days than it will run) 
I believe that my power requirements would be 62 Wh and 7.33 Ah. 
Are my numbers correct?

What type of system would I need, can I get away with a single 12 V battery (~1200 Wh) and a 60 watt panel?

I am a novice with solar energy, any input or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum JC.

You are starting out correctly... Looking at your loads first. You might be on the low side of the estimates for Watts--Motors can be 80% efficient pretty easily (1/.80 eff = 1.25x more current)... If you can measure your current draw with a shunt or DC Current Clamp meter, it will help.

The Math:
    • 745 Watts * 1/2 HP * 10 minutes * 1/60 minutes per hour = 62 Watt*Hours
    • 62 Watt*Hours / 10.5 volts (worst case) = 5.9 Amp*Hours
    So, your 7.33 AH is a bit more worst case and good to use.

If you assume 7.33 AH over 10 minutes, the average draw from the motor:
    • 7.33 AH * 60 minutes per hour * 1/10 minute run time = 44 Amps average draw (worst case)
    For a flooded cell lead acid battery, draw of C/8 maximum is good:
    • 44 amps * 8 hour discharge rate = 352 AH @ 12 volt battery bank minimum based on size of load
    And I would recommend for system that runs daily, that you have 2 days of storage and 50% maximum discharge, or a minimum of 4x your daily load:
    • 7.33 Amps * 2 days storage * 1/0.50 max discharge (for longer battery life) = 29.33 AH based on daily usage