The future of space travel?

softdown
softdown Solar Expert Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭✭
Assuming we have some interest in space travel here. I am no expert, this is just my understanding. Apparently Russia shows little interest in space exploration at this time. Imagine they have more pressing issues to deal with.

Just read that Elon Musk's Space X is getting rid of 10% of employees. A number of reasons may be behind that if true. Jeff Bezos Blue Origin rockets are proving to be much more efficient for one thing. Plus Elon smoked pot during a podcast with Joe Rogan. Not many care but it goes against his contract with the military. Could just be shedding "dead weight". 

Many of us, including me of course, are intrigued by space travel. A huge problem is that, to date, we only travel at ~27,000 mph with manned craft. That doesn't even work for Mars in my opinion. Too much time for failures to crop up. 

Once we get past the Mars and asteroid belt goal, other items of great interest are mostly unfathomably far away. Right now I am thinking we have $1000 and am looking at mansions in Beverly Hills. Going faster takes incredible amount of fuel and turns small objects into lethal weapons. Space has considerable debris when traveling billions of miles. Imagine being hit by a baseball traveling at 500,000 mph. That baseball would make a small crater when impacting the earth. 

Is manned space exploration realistic in the next 15 years? Beyond Mars? 

First Bank:16 180 watt Grape Solar with  FM80 controller and 3648 Inverter....Fullriver 8D AGM solar batteries. Second Bank/MacGyver Special: 10 165(?) watt BP Solar with Renogy MPPT 40A controller/ and Xantrex C-35 PWM controller/ and Morningstar PWM controller...Cotek 24V PSW inverter....forklift and diesel locomotive batteries

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭