All my components arrived from NAW&S. Where do I begin the install .

misskim92008
misskim92008 Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello everybody, I am new to this forum, I am KIMBERLY. Recently bought a 2014 Dodge Promaster, 159 wheelbase, high roof. I purchased a 305 watt solar panel w/ a multiplus compact inverter charger & a 100 amp hr. lifepo 12 v Battrery by Battelborn and a bunch of other things one of the fellas put together for me over the phone. All was purchased from NorthernAz Wind & Solar. Where do I begin the install. I know the location on my van it is going. ( also have a MaxxFan I will be installing too) I would love to hear advice and tips n tricks. If anyone is in the SanDiego area that has some free time I would love some help. I will buy beer or I am a massage therapist & HHP esthetician, willing to trade bodywork for instillation. Just throwing it out there. This van is my 5 year plan to get out of debt once my 17 yo. turns 18....... I call My Van "Van'Debtta" Thanks in advance Namaste' SincerelyKimberly

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum.

Personally, I would start with proper mounting of charge controller, inverter/charger, and related boxes/breakers/wiring.  Check and double check the wiring with a multimeter.  Wait a day or two, then go back and retorque all the connections as cold flow of wiring can result in surprisingly loose connections after being quite tight initially.  Triple check polarity, especially if not using different colours for +ive and -ive.

With the gear mounted, install the batteries (with all breakers open/off to minimize sparky connections).  Be very careful working around the battery.  A dropped wrench across the posts can make for a really bad day.  I put open end wrenches in a sturdy rubber glove, and socket handles in a bit of old garden hose to insulate while working around batteries, because I'm a total klutz.  Don't wear metal jewellery etc.