Adding plug in panels to existing Sportsmobile solar system

The new Sportsmobile installed solar setups use 115w Zamp panels and a controller that is supposed to accommodate 30 amps. They also install a plug to add additional portable array.  I am new at this! Can I add any wattage portable array to system? Can I use a portable kit that is complete, with its own controller?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    I guess this is the company's system:

https://sportsmobile.com/solar-panels/

Realistically, they overestimate solar production by almost a factor of 2x... Plus they get some basic electrical units wrong (talking about X amps per hour & Amp/Hr, and using "amps" and "Amp/Hr" instead of "Amp*Hours" were needed)...

I don't know anything about their panels or solar charge controller (quality). But--You really need to start with the basics first.

What are your energy needs and where will you be using the system/dry camping. There are a few places on earth where you will get near 8 hours of "useful" solar energy per day for any more than a couple months a year (summer). For example, say you are in the central valley around Sacramento California, panels mounted flat to roof:
    http://www.solarelectricityhandbook.com/solar-irradiance.html

Sacramento
    Average Solar Insolation figures

Measured in kWh/m2/day onto a horizontal surface:

JanFebMarAprMayJun

JulAugSepOctNovDec

As you can see, if you assumed 8 hours of sun per day, but need power in the winter--The system would be 1/4 the size needed... 

Also, there are losses/derating factors in solar power systems... If you start with the "marketing specifications" for your solar panels and hours of sun per day, you will, on average, get around 52% to 61% of "marketing numbers" worth of energy.