Xantrex SW5548 AC-IN led flashing and inverting for a short time

Hello, I installed a Xantrex SW5548 , but recently the unit stopped working and now I see this situation:

1. AC-IN led is flashing when I put primary power supply.
  2. When I put the inverter to ON the inverting led turn on and then the bulk led turn on for a while and the the unit goes back to inverting.
  3. I checked the batteries, I connect 4 x 12v batteries making it 48vdc and I get 49.4 vdc on the reading.
Also when I put the unit for CHARGE MODE it does the same, the bulk led turn on and after 1 min the AC IN led goes flashing.

I am new to inverting , so can some have a sample configuration for this type of unit and what settings are suitable for my situation.

Thanks in advance for any help

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Are you connected to utility power, or is this a genset powered system when you have the trouble with the inverter connecting to AC input? Is there any other charging source (solar panels)?

Whatever you do, need to get the battery bank charged backup >90% state of charge pretty soon. At less than 75% state of charge, the batteries (assuming lead acid) will begin to sulfate and die an early (and expensive) death.

Just a general debugging tip... Check the AC voltage at the input terminals to the AC inverter-charger system with a voltmeter and system under load (or blinking LED). Check all of the electrical connections from the main AC panel/breakers to the XW. Loose screws/wire nuts can happen. If you had water that got into a J-Box/electrical connection and got corrosion in the electrical connections.

Look for browning of insulation and copper wiring ends/terminal connections (overheating).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭