Charging with a automotive charger

Options
simmtron
simmtron Solar Expert Posts: 87 ✭✭✭
Has anyone used an automotive charger for charging their off grid system? I have been using the charger from my Xantrex Freedom 458 for 10 years now ( is 16 years old) and just smoked last week. I have it in MAYBE getting fixed (Mexico) so bought a Schumacher SC-1353 portable charger for temp use. I only need to use charger a couple times a month. It has 200 amo engine start, 40 amp boost and 6 amp normal charge. I thought I would ask their tech support about charging batteries in boost mode. The GUY told me boost would shut off in 10 minutes. I thought ohhh, it seems like a heavy battery charger to only use 6 amps. So had it charging yesterday morning, 8 - 6 volt golf carts, and yes it is 12 volts, and yes I know people don't like 4 parallel strings. Well it went to boost mode and stayed there for 1 hour untill I shut it off (solid 37 amps] . Wires were warm not hot , and unit wasn't very hot, and it's 90 f here. Any thoughts about problems using the charger in only boost mode.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    40A is not much for 800ah @ 12V,  you could put that to the batteries for many hours.   What was the voltage at the batteries when you terminated ?
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• simmtron
    Options