XW 6048 - A/C Passthru vs. inverter power usage

Dusty
Dusty Solar Expert Posts: 271 ✭✭✭
In the evening, when my solar panels are no longer producing any power, the 6048 inverter enters "A/C Passthru" mode. At this point, I've been setting my Midnight Solar E-panel to "bypass" and turning the 6048 off.

I don't want to let the inverter use 30+ watts all night long doing nothing, but at the same time, I know that thermal breakdown of components can shorten the life of a power system. (I'm a Navy radar technician, so my experience is limited to very high voltage, high power systems.)

When the XW-6048 is in A/C passthru, should I be shutting it down every night, or is it wiser in the long run to leave it on?:confused:
XW6048, 3.4KW PV, Grid-Tied, always tweaking.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: XW 6048 - A/C Passthru vs. inverter power usage

Turn it off, see what happens.
    Likely as not the AC stops "passing through" because the XW isn't powered so the relay doesn't click. Not sure that's the way they are wired, but it's what you get with most off-grid inverters: no battery, no power.

You could install a transfer switch to "work around" the inverter if this is the case (switch loads from the inverter's AC OUT to the AC IN so they run 'directly' from the power source).
  • Dusty
    Turn it off, see what happens.
    Likely as not the AC stops "passing through" because the XW isn't powered so the relay doesn't click. Not sure that's the way they are wired, but it's what you get with most off-grid inverters: no battery, no power.

You could install a transfer switch to "work around" the inverter if this is the case (switch loads from the inverter's AC OUT to the AC IN so they run 'directly' from the power source).