New Inverter

stmar
stmar Solar Expert Posts: 370 ✭✭✭
I have been running a Trace/Xantrex SW4024 for over 15 years, had it rebuilt once about 7 years ago, AC coil burned out. Same thing just happened after a power outage. It just happened so I am evaluating my options whether to get it fixed, which is a hassle shipping a 100# item, or to replace it with new technology. What is a reliable 4KW 24V inverter nowadays? I have a 400AH battery bank, 4 X 6 volt Lifelines and a solar array. I had the inverter repaired by a company in Washington state and they were  knowledgeable and did a good job but parts for these old units are getting hard to find so it may be time to update. Any input would be appreciated.

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    If you were  happy with the service of the SW 4024, perhaps a Conext SW or.XW will satisfy your needs, 
    1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.  
    5Kw Yanmar clone single cylinder air cooled diesel generator for rare emergency charging and welding.
  • Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    As mcgivor said plus the new gear all has far superior communication and web monitoring anywhere in the world. And parts availability :)
    The new CSW is alot lighter but the XW is no longer made for 24V. 48 volt only!

So the divers have 8 of the kids out? Pretty amazing scary to be towing a young kid on scuba that has never been trained. For the kid as well. What in the heck was the coach thinking.....
    "we go where power lines don't" Sierra Nevada mountain area
       htps://offgridsolar1.com/
    E-mail offgridsolar@sti.net