Grid tie system with Solar and Lithium pack

kyferez
kyferez Registered Users Posts: 3
I am in the process of planning. I intend to start with 48kWHr of lithium batteries modules, and add quite a bit more if it preforms as I think it will.

I have been researching, and my desired plan seems sort of complex and I've not found much info on how to accomplish what I want to do, so I will explain my goals below and hope I'm clear and someone can guide me to how I can accomplish this and what I'll need. I am an electronic engineer and fully understand power voltage etc. The complexity comes in the "features" I'm looking for with the electronics involved.

Basically my goal is to "buffer" electricity using lithium batteries as I have access to very low cost ($0.01 / kWHr) electricity during off-peak hours, so want to leverage that with solar using batteries to eventually eliminate daytime Grid usage. Additionally I mine cryptocurrency so reducing electric usage is highly advantageous.

What I envision:
1) Grid meter 1 with regular price electric---->Powers house during day if batteries are drained

2) Grid meter 2 with low cost Electric at night(very high cost during day)--->Powers battery chargers ONLY at night per programmed schedule

3) Batteries--->Generate power for house until discharged.

4) Solar--->Charge batteries and feed Grid meter 1 during day

So it's sort of complex, and I am having trouble finding out what I need to accomplish a system like this. I would like a system that is expandable so when I add batteries I can add capacity.

My main point of not understanding is what equipment is required to do the above 4 points with up-gradable capacity up to 200kWHr as I add components.

Other details: At peak usage, I pull 100kWHr per day. Grid Meter 1 circuit is 220VAC 200Amp residential in the US. I'm waiting on additional details for Grid meter 2 from power company.

Thank you for any help!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭