Help With off the grid Solar Project on my university campus!!

gdandrews54
gdandrews54 Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1
Hello,
I am currently working on a lighting solution for an outdoor classroom I and other architecture students are currently working on for our university. The current plan for our lighting is to have an LED strip as well as a couple pathway lights around the site. In total the system required 27 watts (I calculated 2.25 watts at 12V) of energy and this will run over night every night. I calculated that this will draw around 25Ah during the winter months and around 12Ah during the summer(based on the length of the nights). I was thinking about getting a 35Ah battery and connecting it to a solar panel. The university has stated that they will not be providing much maintenance to the site so i'm expecting months to go by without anyone working at the site. I have a few questions though as I have never worked with these systems before.
1.) what type of battery would you recommend? I was looking at an AGM battery. I need something that will require no maintenance and can withstand daily cycles where it will have 30 percent discharge. I understand the life span will be somewhere around 2 or 3 years. Also would you recommend a higher Ah batter? Lastly, the system will be kept inside a box we will construct. During the summer and Winter months should I be concerned the battery will be ruined from these temperatures (up to 90 in the summer and as low as 10 occasionally in the winter).
2.) What wattage solar panel would you recommend that will fully charge the battery every day?
3.) What type of controller would you recommend that could sense the temperature?

Anything else you think I should take into consideration I would be very grateful to know

Thank you,

Graham  

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I assume the lights would run from 12V and not household power ?