Crazy Voltages to AC Input from Generators

Hi, new here, glad to be here!

I posted this on another forum, but still needing help, input or insight on this.

I am new to the Solar Power System world but I have a remote Swamp Camp and I had some money saved so I thought I would buy a System because parts of the year no AC is needed. I got this system http://www.solarpenny.com/Magnum-Ene...assic-(4p).htm in the 4024 Version. I have 4, 6 volt Trojan L16 RE-B for my storage.

Now I have 2 Generators at my Camp. A Westerbeke 4.5 KW and an Onan DJE 6.0 KW. I like redundancy  Both of these Gensets run fine and produce at 60 HZ, and 122-124 volts 
I know Generators very well, and I am no novice when it comes to electrical connections.

Now the Crazy part. When I have the Westerbeke connected with out the AC Input Breakers on I read the voltage in the panel at AC In and it is 122-124 volts. I flip the breakers on the panel it bogs down the Genset, and the voltage rises up to 160 volts or so and the breaker trips.  I see the Charging light come on with this Genset connected.

Now when I have the Onan connected it does the exact opposite. A good 122-124 volts at the AC In, flip the breakers on the panel it does not bog down the Genset and it drops to 8-5-9.6 volts. I do not see the Charging light come on with this Genset.

I set the AC input Amps in the Inverter Controller to 15. The Westerbeke puts out 19 each leg and the Onan 25 so I thought that would be a good start for that setting.

Not sure if anyone has ever saw this type thing, or have any ideas, but they are all appreciated 

I have since been to my Camp and I isolated it from the System.  I get the exact readings mentioned here as I did the first time around, so it has to be in the System I bought. 

I want to add that both of these Gensets run my Camp with no issues, and it appears the Solar System itself works fine in running things in my Camp.

Thom

South of New Orleans

Comments

• mike95490