I'm doing a simple solar setup, i need help on which cables to buy.

Melegor
Melegor Registered Users Posts: 3
Hello, so since we got hit by hurricane Maria in PR I've been doing a little small solar project to power up a fan, tv and xbox 24/7.

So far I've bought 2 100w 12v solar panels (i will buy 2 extra panels soon), a 30amp charge controller and 2 100ah deep cycle batteries, the tv use about 75 watts, xbox one s runs about 50 watts, and a fan runs about 100 watts on high i think.

I am completely new to solar power and i pretty much now very little, i am an absolute noob on this, I've been reading about what cables i should buy and i just got more confused, so i made an account to ask directly to you folks!

What cables do i need to connect parallel the solar panels? 4 100w 12v panels.

What cables to i need to connect the panels to the charge controller? And should i use a fuse in between the panels and controller? Also what cables to connect the controller to the batteries? And lastly what cables to parallel connect the batteries?

I have both amazon and ebay accounts, if you can provide a link to cables that you recommend that would be fantastic!

Comments

• myocardia
    myocardia Solar Expert Posts: 118 ✭✭✭
    First of all, your power numbers are grossly off. An Xbox One uses 72 watts while streaming NetFlix, and 112 or 113 watts while gaming. A 20 inch box fan only uses 60-80 watts, on high, assuming it isn't extremely old. See this link for Xbox One power usage: https://www.extremetech.com/gaming/182829-new-report-slams-xbox-one-and-ps4-power-consumption-inefficiencies-still-abound  BTW, both your television, and your fan, have writing on the back of them that tell how many watts they use.