Building my first Solar System... HELP!

Scott_Waldy
Scott_Waldy Registered Users Posts: 11 ✭✭
Sorry for the length.

My Vision...
I'm a HAM Radio operator. I'd like to have a Self Contained trailer that I can use to base Emergency Communications out of. Just one of my radios will draw 20 amps when it's transmitting. Each Transmission averages about 1-2 minutes. I have 2 of these radios, along with a couple more that can draw up to 10 amps each. 

Whats been done, so far...
I've installed 3 of 4 109ah 12v Deep Cycle batteries. Changed over to all LEDs inside. I've reworked much of the Trailer's wiring.

The Draw...
Other than the radio equipment, already mentioned, I have a CPAP Machine that draws 3a/h @ 12v. So... 3a/h x 8 hours of sleep = 24ah/night. I figure the H2O Pump (10a/h) & the fridge are negligible. 

My Design thoughts... 
An MPPT Controller
2 (possibly 3) panels.

I've been trying to wrap my skull around all of this but 'tis better to just ask the collective.

Thoughts? Opinions as to what I've done so far and what my next move may be.

TIA,
Scott

Edit: Add Time Sentence for radios.

Comments

• Horsefly
    Horsefly Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2017 #2
    Wow. You didn't say, but I assume your radios are operating on 120VAC. 20A at 120V is 2400W. If you are talking about a 12V system (and assuming an 85% efficiency of your inverter), you will be pulling 2400 / 0.85 / 12 = 235 Amps, and doing that for 1-2 minutes each time. That is a ton of pull.  If your eventual battery bank is 4 of the 109AH batteries in parallel, that's over C/2 of current.  The other guys here are experts, but from my limited knowledge that sounds like too much to ask.

EDIT: Meant batteries in parallel.
    Off-grid cabin: 6 x Canadian Solar CSK-280M PV panels, Schneider XW-MPPT60-150 Charge Controller, Schneider CSW4024 Inverter/Charger, Schneider SCP, 8S (25.6V), 230Ah Eve LiFePO4 battery in a custom insulated and heated case.
  • Estragon