Starting off with 2 new Surettes, but cutting my bank in half to try and make this work this time

Freewilley
Freewilley Solar Expert Posts: 228 ✭✭
For over 4 years I have been seeking help with my batteries from you folks. And you have been VERY helpful. There are several long threads trying to help me. And I had many emails from Steve Higgins, tech support chief at Surette. 

However, once again I have been unsuccessful with 4 new (2 years old) S550s. Two have been junked  (they both had middle cells that just died). They are about to be replaced by 2 brand new of the same. But this time I want to ensure the newbies are broken in properly, principally ensuring that they are regularly recharged to close to 100%. Most of the comments on my problems come up with that as the key factor.

The two I have been using are marginal..if I just try to run absorb cycles they move to float even though they are not nearly charged. I have been running them on EQ steady for 2 months (possibly 30 EQ cycles?). The highest SG I have seen this year on the lowest reading cell (which, once again is a middle cell) is 1.240. That is after 7 hours of EQ and is temperature adjusted.

With these 2 new batts I am trying a new tact. Unless there is some flaw in my system, the issue is probably the lack of  regular full 100% charge cycles. So instead of mixing batteries old and new, I installed a switch so I can separate the strings. I intend to baby the new pair by turning them off (so they do not get drawn down) until I get them up to 100%. I will use the two marginal batteries as pinch hitters and if  they do not get back to full charge I will not worry about them....just protect the new ones and cycle them up and down as per the manual.

I do have more PV than I had previously with other new batts. 1400 watts should be more than enough to power 2 550s and I am going to use the genny when pulling serious loads out.