Battery placement

bstbkr
bstbkr Registered Users Posts: 1
Hello all-I am just getting started with my off grid system and would like some feed back on my battery placement. I am concerned about the winters here and cold. I know that I will have to insulate my batteries. Would it be acceptable for me to place my batteries in the crawl space under the house? Where I would like to put them, I can stand up fully, so i don't think space confinement would be a problem.
Tagged:

Comments

• littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Flooded lead acid batteries like, and last longer in cool temps. Well maintained properly charged batteries are remarkably freeze resistant. Where are you located? If your crawl space is already vented you should be fine. Use a temperature sensor with your charge controller. If your crawl space isn't well ventilated you should provide ventilation above your batteries. If using sealed AGM batteries ventilation is less of an issue.

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Using the lead acid a model, capacity is reduced as temperatures drop, inversely they  increase as temperatures rise, but it's a double edged sword, lower temperatures increase the life expectancy whilst higher temperatures decrease it. The happy medium, according to many manufacturers is around 20°C or 68°F, but cooler is generally considered benificial, placing in a crawl space that has some ventilation should not be a problem, always consider the deminished capacity and use a remote temperature sensor with the charger as the cooler thy get the higher the voltage to maintain them is.