Cleaning solar panels effectively

aminaelis
aminaelis Registered Users Posts: 14 ✭✭
Hello everyone,

I am totally new to this whole solar panel concept. We just moved to a house with solar water heater and since it hasn't been lived in for quite some time, we have a lot of things to fix, clean and so on. What is the best way to clean solar panels? Ours are dusty and also there are many pipes and wires around them, some in pretty bad shape but our landlord said it's fine.

Is there any effective and gentle way to clean solar panels? 

I will look forward to reading your suggestions :)
Tagged:

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Wash in the morning or late afternoon using plain water and a sponge squeegee seems to work in most cases, be generous with the water to float the dirt off. Hard water can leave deposits but generally less than the dirt it replaces, that's the method I use, water then squeegee dry, others may have differing opinions and suggestions.
    1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.  
    5Kw Yanmar clone single cylinder air cooled diesel generator for rare emergency charging and welding.
  • Solray
    Solray Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭✭
    Use a window cleaning wand and water with a little glass cleaner such as is used for automobile washer fluid reservoirs.
  • Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    These may be solar thermal, not pv. If so, they may be made of a type of rubber that may be damaged by certain chemicals. A windshield cleaner, for example, may contain an anti-freeze that can cause problems with some types of rubber.