Designing an off grid solar sustem

bfath
bfath Registered Users Posts: 1
Hello,

I am looking for some help designing a simple off grid solar system. My mother in law is building a small off grid house on an island in the Pacific Northwest (British Columbia, Canada). I am a red seal journeyman electrician with 15 years experience so the wiring and installation of the system is a no brainer for me, but as far as designing a system to meet her needs is where I am lost. Her budget is modest at best, so cost is definitely a factor though both her and I understand that purchasing a system that meets her needs is of the upmost importance. Here is a little background on her situation:

The house is 800 sq/ft

Location is the PNW so lots of cloud and rain, especially in the winter months

She will live there full time, by herself, and will be very power conscious at all times

Heat is by wood stove, as is her range/oven so no power usage there

She would like the fridge to be DC since it will be the only load to run all the time

All other major loads will be gas powered (hot water tank, etc)

System will include a small backup generator in case of emergency

So with this all being said, her power consumption should be quite low. All lights will be small wattage LED (eg. 6-12w each) and there will be 10-12 lights. Any other power usage will be intermittent (kitchen appliances such as a blender, etc.), as well as charging a cell phone and laptop and that would be about it. Here is where I have some questions.

Should lighting be AC or DC? I was leaning towards AC as to keep costs down with smaller gauge wire and cheaper light fixtures but does this reasoning make sense?