Charging issues or lack there of!

WillieT
WillieT Registered Users Posts: 4
First of all I am a Solar newbie. I try to read as much as I can but I'm having an issue that I can't wrap my head around. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I have a off grid camper on some remote property I own. The system is 12 volt (all wired parallel) with (3)100 watt panels, (usually reading about 21 volts) A fairly cheap 30 amp charge controller (nothing user configurable),   (2) 210 ah deep cycle marine batteries (which just tested good and were fully charged at home before installing) and (1) 800 watt inverter.  Running off the inverter a small TV, DVD player, and occasionally a fan or two (less than 100 watts). On the 12 volt side  the usual camper lighting (all LED) Radio/CD player, camper water pump, and fridge (propane and electricity) . Generally not a big draw on the batteries. The problem is the charge controller doesn't seem to be charging the batteries. The charge controller initially read 13.0 volts on the battery bank. After several hours of as much load as I could muster the battery voltage dropped some and read 12.3 volts. Checking the controller several times with all the stuff running it continued to read 0 amps going to the batteries. Now, after that long winded introduction, my question is  "Shouldn't the charge controller have kicked in a started recharging the batteries by then?" The charge controller has no documentation indicating at what voltage it begins charging. I have confirmed via multi-meter, the voltage at the panels, the voltage on the array side of the controller, and the battery bank voltage. All is consistent. I initially thought it was the controller and have replaced it 3 times. All my wiring sizes and runs are within specs. Again sorry to be so long winded but I wanted to anticipate any questions you might have while trying to answer. Any help would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks in advance 

WillieT
Middle Tennessee

Comments