load balancer?

I'm still pretty new to solar energy so bear with me. I have been wondering if there is some kind of balancer that you can use in a grid tie situation that just lets you offset your regular electric bill.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: load balancer?
    I'm still pretty new to solar energy so bear with me. I have been wondering if there is some kind of balancer that you can use in a grid tie situation that just lets you offset your regular electric bill.

It sort of just happens, in the sunny part of the day, your meter runs backwards, as you feed power into the grid. At night, the grid powers your house. With a small PV system, you shave the top of your bill off. With a larger system, averaged over a year, you can end up with nearly Zero bill.
    Of course the utility companies are not always cooperative, and fiddle with common sense, like extending the peak cooling hours from 11AM to 9PM, letting you GIVE to them , but they never pay, etc.....
    Is this what you were asking ?
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭

By the wording of the OP, its sounds as he wants a GT that would be stealth to the power company.

For many reasons, you need to be above board and legal in doing GridTie
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭