Grounding

Butch1952
Butch1952 Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to solar and I'm needing some info, I just have been collecting equipment to install an off-grid system. I've got 2 - 160 watt mono panels, the wire, a inverter and a mppt charge controller. The only thing is that I got everything thats negative ground except for the charge controller and its positive ground is there anyway to use this cc or am I going to have to buy a new negative ground cc. I've asked around and theres nobody around here that has ever deal with anything like this. I did have one guy say that I could just ground the battery and nothing else. That doesn't sound right to me. 

I would sure appreciate any info
Thanks 
Richard

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    what is the make of MPPT CC and  inverter?  what did you pay for them?

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • Butch1952
    The Charge controller is a Epever Mppt Tracer and the inverter is Reliable inverter both Chinese made (cheap)
  • Butch1952
    The cc was $150 dollars and I think the inverter was around the same price.

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    so much of what is readily available is Neg ground,....... If me,  I would get another Charge controller to avoid any other Plus vs Neg.ground issues

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • Butch1952