RV solar & electrical - Charging questions & general advice?

PNW_Steve
PNW_Steve Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭
Good Morning Everyone,

I am in the process of converting a bus into an RV. This is not my first and I though that I had a pretty good handle on the electrical side until I threw solar and "Over the Road" charging using a battery isolator in conjunction with the coach charging system.

My past projects have relied on a single charging source for the house batteries and I am concerned about potential issues when using three different charging sources: RV converter/charger, Solar and Coach charging system. Any advice in this area would be appreciated.

I would also appreciate any input regarding my general design. I have been tinkering with this stuff for a few years but his is my first "real" solar install.

My intention is not to be totally grid independent but instead to use the available solar to reduce generator run time when I am not plugged in as well as supporting only the refrigerator when parked for extended periods in a sunny location.

I have another rig that I installed a 10.7 cu.ft. refrigerator that runs on battery/inverter. No solar just the generator or shore power to recharge. Not ideal but functional. This fridge has an Energy Star estimate of around 400kwh/year. I have measured an actual consumption of .5-.8kwh daily. I can run it overnight on a pair of golf cart batteries without a problem (2x6v-190AH).

I have not measured the consumption of the 5.5 cu.ft. refrigerator but the Energy Star estimated annual consumption is 15-20% lower.

I am building out to accommodate two Trojan j-185 batteries but due to initial budget I will likely only install one to get started.