Reputable Inverter brands?

NeedMyTV
NeedMyTV Registered Users Posts: 4
I am designing a small emergency power system to run a TV, a small fan, and the occasional microwave oven, so we are not sitting in the dark the next time there is a big storm (Florida).   I have an (old) degree in Electrical Engineering so I understand all the principles. I have decided on all 24v parts, all pure sine wave, which helps narrow the field.  There will be a small 300W inverter for the TV and fan (60W and 20W respectively) because I read that the smaller units are more efficient for small loads, and this is what we will be using most of the time.   Later on I will need a separate 2000W inverter for the microwave.  But the last time I did this exercise, in 1999, the choices were different - brand names come and go and it is hard to tell the reliable brands from the cheap ones that will let me down.  For the smaller unit, they are all cheap enough it is not too big a worry, but the big units are expensive enough to do more study.

I know the name TrippLite.  Is Trace now Xantrex?  Who is GoPower?  I assume they are mostly all manufactured in China regardless of the quality.  Is there a list of the "good" ones?
Tagged:

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    In the field of inverters, the price is a fair indicator of quality.... a good one at 24 V 2000w should be above ~$600..  also the more data you find available, generally > better quality... 
    To me most important were, idle draw, sleep mode draw (consumption), overall efficiency rating at different  loads than just its sweet point ... and surge capacity and duration...

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • BB.