Will a 30w solar panel be enough to charge 20ah battery?

Nano
Nano Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
hi guys im new to this solar system thingie i already got most of the things expect solar panel...
i have a 20ah 12v battery and i want to use it to charge 2 phones and 2 tablets at the same time which is around 30w of power using 12v to 5v adapter after the sun goes down.. and also i wanted to ask what can i run off modified sine wave inverter?

Comments

• Nano
    anyone?
  • Raj174
    Raj174 Solar Expert Posts: 795 ✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2016 #3
    Hi Nano,
    It looks like the load (charging phones and tablets) would be about 3 to 4 amp hours out of the 20AH battery, which is about what want for that size battery. If you don't already have one, you will need a PWM charge controller to properly charge the battery. Here is a link to a good one at a good price. https://www.solar-electric.com/sg-4.html

The 30 watt panel will provide about 1.5 amps for charging. That's about an 8% charge rate, which is a little low but it will work.
    You will need 2 to 3 hours of good sun to recharge the battery. Be careful not to over discharge the battery due to poor charging conditions like a couple days of bad weather.

Modified sine wave inverters do not play well with anything that has a transformer or a motor. Think refrigerator, florescent lights, fans. These loads may work, but the wave form causes the production of heat in the windings, which is a loss in efficiency and can stress equipment, sometimes to failure, although that is rare.

Good luck with your project  
    4480W PV, MNE175DR-TR, MN Classic 150, Outback Radian GS4048A, Mate3, 51.2V 360AH nominal LiFePO4, Kohler Pro 5.2E genset.
  • pdh
    pdh Registered Users Posts: 31 ✭✭
    > You will need 2 to 3 hours of good sun to recharge the battery