Advice needed for building small pool on farm

KeninOnt
KeninOnt Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
Hello... I am building a small concrete/tiles (520 gallons) cooling-off pool for my wife and I on our farm. Where I have dug the hole and done the landscaping is far from AC power. I have been unable to source out any kind of small solar pool pump for our needs. There are big expensive solar pool pumps but they are total overkill.

I have no experience working with water pumps. I believe if I use a 5 GPM 12v pump and 1/2" lines that I could cycle and filter the water once a day running the pump for 1.5 hrs.

Can somebody please provide me with any advice regarding the pump that could be used for this application. Thank you!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Are you OK with daytime power (solar panels only)? Or do you want to pump in the dark too (+battery bank)?

In general, if you can pump during the day, a solar panel=>water pump (or solar panel=>Variable Frequency Drive=>pump) is going to be less money and more reliable (no battery bank to purchase and service, spend more money on pump motor+VFD).

If you want some (for example) LED lightning (radio, etc.)--A very small solar+battery system could work for you.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • KeninOnt
    I am open to a solar panel=>water pump or a solar panel=>12v battery or even a 24v system depending on the water pump. The water pump is the crucial component in this system I figure so I am starting with the pump and working from there. I have been researching water pumps for a few days and do not know which pump would be best suited for our needs.

The pump seller web sites I have sent questions to regarding "selecting the correct pump for your application" have not responded so I thought I would try here.  Thanks!
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin