SMA too sophisticated to be any good?

SpikeandKari
SpikeandKari Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
Hi, I'm a newbie here so if I'm posting in the wrong place or using wrong terminology please be gentle!

I have a smallholding in southern Spain and too many orange trees so whilst cutting down half of them I need to pump a lot of water from a borehole to keep the rest of them alive. I considered a solar borehole pump but didn't fancy putting all that money down a hole so voted instead for a standard AC pump and a system to produce lots of activities from solar. I bought a SMA Sunny Boy 3 KW PV inverter which with 3 KW of panels. The AC from this will connect to the output of a Sunny Boy 3 KW battery inverter with 290 AH at 48 V Rolls batteries. The batteries are a little small but the idea is to use the power in the day to pump water with the excess charging the batteries for our house use overnight. Our domestic use is very light. Now the problem. I'm half way through commissioning the system and started with the Sunny Island since the Sunny Boy needs to see AC to fire up. All seemed fine and the Sunny Island inverter fired up but when I tried to connect a generator to charge up the battery bank I kept getting voltage too low error. Now I can monitor the voltage through the SB interface so I see exactly what it is seeing and it is well within spec but after a dozen start ups now still same error.  I then searched on the net and found this dreadful and way overcomplicated document https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://files.sma.de/dl/15216/SIGEN-11FD1212.pdf&ved=0ahUKEwij6YqN_frMAhWRSxoKHaXyDkEQFggeMAA&usg=AFQjCNE1IwAA-lGRBYX9_bj0IkXaamGZPA&sig2=5YYQBODztcm6AWfChJjclw