Low Voltage Disconnect and Auto Switch to Grid

Options
EarthImage
EarthImage Registered Users Posts: 3
Howdy, I've been mucking about with 2 x 250 watt panels and 24 volt battery setup to run my office computer and printers. Works great while I have enough juice in my batteries! What I'd like to do is have a device that will monitor my battery voltage so that when it drops to say 24.2 volts that my inverter is shut down and my system automatically switches to grid power. I would then run off of grid power until my solar panels charge my batteries to a specified voltage (25.3 volts?) and then automatically my system would switch back to using the inverter. Is there an affordable (ha!) device that can do this? Am I thinking about this correctly? Yes, I am new to the solar game.

Thanks!
EarthImage

Comments

• Raj174
    Raj174 Solar Expert Posts: 795 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hello Earthimage and welcome to the forum,

Higher end inverters (more expensive) have this function built in, however an automatic transfer switch with an appropriate logic circuit triggering a low and high voltage relay at the inverter input might work. Google automatic transfer switches, 
    Google this to control the inverter on and off at set voltage.     

JLD404AH Intelligent AH meter 

The control relay will have to be big enough to handle the max amperage you expect the inverter to draw. This equipment is not cheap, maybe 500 dollars.

Rick

4480W PV, MNE175DR-TR, MN Classic 150, Outback Radian GS4048A, Mate3, 51.2V 360AH nominal LiFePO4, Kohler Pro 5.2E genset.
  • EarthImage
    Options
    Hi Rick,