best battery for off grid application

wild_amative
wild_amative Registered Users Posts: 6
newbie here. I am looking to go off the grid and I am wondering what the best battery is for storing power?? and what's the best way to figure out how big of a system you will need since I will be moving into a smaller house than what I am in now??

Comments

• zoneblue
    zoneblue Solar Expert Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭✭
    Well, welcome to the NAWs forum.

But... whats the best car? How big a garage do you need? Kinda big questions.

Maybe tell us what your needs are, and your budgebt, and well see what we can do.
    1.8kWp CSUN, 10kWh AGM, Midnite Classic 150, Outback VFX3024E,
    http://zoneblue.org/cms/page.php?view=off-grid-solar

• wild_amative
    :)  well hell there's no answer to what's the best car except something safe and reliable and gets you from point A to point B!! i'm looking to power a 500 SQ FT house for atleast 4 days off the grid my budget is 50 k probily over kill. I was thinking of getting some Trojan AGM golf cart batteries but I was reading on here that some batteries can cost almost 600 bucks!! i'm probily looking atleast a 10k system and a generator. I do know one thing is that I have to cut down on my power usage and go with LED lights and 12 volt appliances to keep the draw low. though I will have a few power suckers like a microwave coffee pot I hear that satellite receivers are power suckers to from another post on here with someone that has directv
  • South Africa
    South Africa Solar Expert Posts: 295 ✭✭✭
    edited January 2016 #4
    In terms of solar systems it boils down to needs and wants. What do you need is cheaper than what you want.

First reduce (for this can cost a small fortune on its own) then answer: What is the load you want powered, the actual watts, and the hours on, in the 4 days off grid ... as Bill and the others will start asking you, so get that answer so long.  :D