solar panel for 305 gallon aquaponic hoop house

Options
5thgradeotg
5thgradeotg Registered Users Posts: 1
I am a 5th grade teacher and am teaching off the grid sustainability, what are the specific necessities (size of solar panel, voltage/watts, inverter, battery etc) to run the water pump 24 hours a day?

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Sort of like asking "how much electricity does it take to run a light bulb?"  It depends on the lightbulb.

Welcome to the forum,

The answer to your question depends on the pump.   First thing to figure out is how many watts does the pump draw, and how many hours a day is it pumping?  Multiply those two numbers and you get watthours.  Once we have a daily watthour total, the system design is straight forward.

Generally, pumps that draw more watts are able to move more gallons per minute and/or provide the water at higher pressure.

--vtMaps

4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Phew!  when I read the title alone I thought you wanted to use the PV to create the heat for the house...  Possible but not likely... How WILL you be generating the heat for that system?

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    As the folks above have said, it really is important to know your needs and get the most efficient pump(s) you can.

This website has a lot of detail information as he spent a few years installing/upgrading/fixing his system (relatively small system):