DC Disconnect Switch for Battery Bank with 2/0 wire.

Options
KJ7YM
KJ7YM Solar Expert Posts: 30 ✭✭
I am seeking advice for a reasonably priced 24 volt DC disconnect switch for my battery farm/inverter.
Like so many things as soon as something gets an exotic label, like Aquaponic, or Solar, or HVAC, etc., etc, some of the simplest devices suddenly cost hundreds of dollars.

I wish to put a simple disconnect switch on my battery bank that can handle 2/0 wire.I am beginning to think I will need to build my own, because even as an Air Conditioning guy in a gioeld that is just full of customer abuse and unethical over charging, I find the Solar Industry to be surprisingly proud of every re-branded or Chinese made item that caries a tag saying solar.

I am hoping that someone else may have already gone down this road before me and found a generic manufacturer or at least a semi-reasonable solution to this dirt simple switch. I am a master industrial engine mechanic, generator repair tech, HVAC tech, and went to college for a industrial electrical degree. So I guess if I have to I can cobble something together on my own. But what I am asking is do I really have to. I obviously m willing to pay, even sometimes somewhat unreasonable amounts to have someone else do the work for me. But there is just something about this bone simple switch that is going too far in my opinion. Thanks for letting me rant guys. Maybe I am just being overly sensitive today. But really? Really? :-)

Larry

Comments

• KJ7YM
    Options
    I did find this which looks somewhat promising: store.mwands.com/wire-terminals-connectors/dc-disconnect-switch-for-battery-banks-and-power-sources/
    Am I allowed to post links to vendors? If not please let me know and I will delete it. I am just trying to show the product as an example. I do not even know who this store is.

Larry
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options