IS THIS SETUP OK?

Options
PURSITA2
PURSITA2 Registered Users Posts: 5
I AM NEW TO SOLAR. I HAVE A DESIGN FOR AN INDOOR EVAP COOLER (WE LIVE IN THE DESERT) ONLY COMPONENTS I AM INITIALLY POWERING ARE A 150 WATT, 12V FAN AND 30 WATT, 12V BILGE PUMP. I CHOSE 12V AS THE COMPONENTS WERE ALL CHEAPER. PLAN BUYING 280 WATT, 36.5V PV PANEL FROM SOLAR WIND. - RUN 36V APPROX 40' TO A 36/24 DC/DC STEP DOWN CONVERTER - TO A 24V/12V MPPT CHARGE CONTROLLER - TO 12V BATTERIES - THEN TO FAN/PUMP. I HAVE ALL PARTS BUT THE PANEL AND BATTERIES. I WOULD LIKE THE SYS. TO RUN A FEW HOURS AFTER DARK (FLEXIBLE). THE LARGER PANEL MIGHT ALLOW AN EXTRA AN OR PUMP AND PROVIDE CHARGING WHILE RUNNING DURING THE DAY.  WHAT WOULD BATTERY AMP/HR NEED TO BE? DOES THE ABOVE SOUND OK? MY WIFE WILL KILL ME IF I ELECTROCUTE THE DOG OR SOMETHING. THANKS. RICHARD

Comments

• solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    If you are using an actual MPPT charge controller there is really no need to step down the line before the charge controller, the charge controller will do that.  

The key to making this successful is to understand the loads, size the batteries for the needed autonomy then size the panels/ charge controller to get the batteries charged.
  • vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    With that size solar panel you could manage a couple of 6 volt golf cart batteries in series... depending on how often and for how long you run your loads.

But first, you need a sensible system design.  What solar controller did you buy?  You shouldn't need a 36/24 volt step down converter... the controller should step down from panel voltage to battery voltage.  Also, you need some way to prevent the loads from killing the battery... a low voltage disconnect.  Some charge controllers have load terminals that can do this.

--vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • PURSITA2