Beginner's Brain Freeze

Options
NCTinkerer
NCTinkerer Registered Users Posts: 6
I am brand new to solar, although I have many years of electronics experience. My son and I recently built a 12x16 shed behind his house for storage use. We thought it might be fun to setup solar instead of trenching in a power line. We are planning for a few dozen watts of LED lighting inside, 2 x 30 watt motion activated LED floods outside and an outlet to charge his electric lawn mower (about a 100 watt charger.) The lights will be used infrequently and the mower will be charged overnight after use then trickle charged afterward.

I've been reading a lot and websurfing like crazy.

When I ran across this forum I thought "These guys are really patient with dumb questions." So here goes. We're considering a Renogy 100 w mono PV panel, a PWM charge controller, a single 12 v deep cycle battery, and a small inverter. I saw one post where a guy said that a modified sine wave inverter would not charge his laptop. Is this a known issue with MSW inverters, that they don't play well with battery chargers?

I'm overloaded by the dozens of brand names of equipment available for wildly varying prices. I figure the cheapest stuff is junk and the most expensive stuff is either overpriced or more complex than we need. Considering the setup I've described, what brand names of charge controllers, batteries, inverters, panels are good values for such a small system? I'm not looking for specifics and don't want to start any arguments. I just want to know which brands have proven themselves over the years as good values.

Thanks for your patience...

Comments

• inetdog
    inetdog Solar Expert Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Yes, it is a known issue that an MSW inverter does not play well with most battery chargers. The problems range from overheating and damage to the charger to the charger not working properly (as in some laptop power supplies.)