Charge controller problems in Africa

Hello All,

I'm in dire need of some help from across the atlantic so all advice is appreciated.

This is my first post so I am going to give some background info. I have been a licensed journeyman electrician in New Mexico for the last five years but I have been living in the Islamic Republic of Mauritania for the past year volunteering for the Peace Corps. We have some solar sites here that I need advice on. Also let me say that I didn't install any of our solar power systems and I don't have any experience in solar.

With that said:

We have four rural solar sites at our girls mentoring centers that power 3-5 computers, 1-2 flourescent fixtures, and 1-2 ceiling fans. Two panels are generally installed (I don't know the wattage but the paperwork says 165W apiece) along with one 30A 12V charge controller, one 235AH 12V deep cycle and a 500W 12V inverter. We are having problems burning out charge controllers. At one site, I think 24V panels were installed (I measured ~38V coming off each panel at midday) instead of 12V (the battery, inverter, and controller are all rated for 12V). At another site I'm not sure what is going on. We had a couple charge controllers burn out before I had a chance to look at it and when I got there I measured ~22V coming off each panel at midday.

What confuses me is the voltage; how much should a 12V panel output? Mauritania is on the western side of the saharan desert so sun isn't a problem (although it regularly gets over 120degF). Also, doesn't the battery regulate the voltage up to a point? The inverters have internal overcurrent protection although if I'm not mistaken, they are ridiculously undersized. 6AWG wire is installed on the entire DC side.