I'm a Noob... Electrical wiring, Battery, and other questions

I'm in the middle of doing my first solar power application.

I'm almost done building a sauna and would like it to be powered by solar power, and when I say powered, I only plan on using electricity for lighting, and there will only be 2 lights (12v - 25w)

I need some guidance as a lot of this stuff is very new to me and it's hard to get general help at the local hardware stores since most people working there don't have any experience with much of 12v.

1) Wiring/Hardware - I am planning on using regular 'ol AC outdoor wire 15AMP rating to power 2 - 25 watt (or smaller) bulbs. I purchased standard AC light switches and just wanted to make sure they are OK to use since I can't find any DC switches.

2) Battery - I wanted to purchase a single deep-cycle battery for this and already have a 12v, 6w solar panel. I will only need this battery to last me no more then 4 hours in any given day and not likely more then 10 hours a week for the two light bulbs I mentioned earlier, what size battery would I need? Which type/brand are better to use?

Thanks in advance for all your suggestions.

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: I'm a Noob... Electrical wiring, Battery, and other questions

this is try #2 as i lost my more lengthy reply in hitting a wrong key so i'll shorten this somewhat.
    1> you can get away with using the ac switches if you keep the current low as in one switch per 25w light and having to replace them more often, but they were not meant for dc switching. this may be good for you costwise as ac switches are usually cheaper than the small dc switches you would buy at the proper current rating.